National Land Commission

The Urban Land Division was formed in 2008, pursuant to the enactment of the Land Act 2007, for management and administration of registered land in urban areas. Prior to the enactment of the Land Act 2007 these responsibilities were vested with concerned Thromdes and the Ministry of Works and Human Settlement. Each Thromde had their own Thram formats and land conveyance procedures. The Urban Land Division has standardized all urban Thrams and land conveyance procedures in line with the Land Act. Standard Lagthrams were issued in 2009. Some of the main achievements of this Division are coordinating cadastral resurveys in four Thromdes and resolving numerous land disputes and pending cases through 14 rounds of High Level Committee Meetings instituted as per the command of His Majesty the King.
  • Manage, regulate and administer urban land
  • Key Stakeholder
  • Courts
  • Ministry of Agriculture and Forests
  • Dzongkhags
  • Gewogs
  • Financial Institutions
  • Ministry of Home And Cultural Affairs
  • Services
  • Land transactions
  • Thromde Sathrams management
  • Processing private land acquisitions for national interests
  • Processing land substitutes and compensations
  • Processing land allotment to Government Agencies and Religious Institutes
  • Field verifications for resolving discrepancies
  • Implementation of the decisions of the Commission and Dispute Settlement Committee
  • Implementation of the directives received from the Office of the Gyalpoi Zimpon
  • Scroll to Top